Type certificate

Type certificate

Js3 easa type certificate in hands of keno markwald and

A Type Certificate is a document issued by the FAA to an aircraft manufacturer that certifies the aircraft’s design. Cessna Aircraft Company of Wichita, Kansas, for example, has a Type Certificate for the Cessna 172. It’s worth noting that the certificate details what components make up a Cessna 172, as well as its limits and performance requirements. This specification must be followed when Cessna manufactures a 172. Furthermore, only aircraft that meet this criterion are designated as 172s. That’s why, if you make a significant change to a certified aircraft, you’ll need an STC—a “Supplemental Type Certificate”—to ensure that the aircraft design is still airworthy and the limits are correct with the new equipment. However, for an unmodified Cessna, there is only one Type Certificate, which is issued to Cessna, Inc.
An Airworthiness Certificate, on the other hand, is issued for each aircraft separately and certifies that this particular plane is safe to fly. They can be revoked if the plane suffers an unintentional major airframe modification, for example (or indeed, an uncertified major alteration of any kind or if for some reason the FAA has reason to believe the aircraft is no longer airworthy). Each aircraft has its own Airworthiness Certificate, which is displayed in the passenger compartment, so there are as many Airworthiness Certificates for Cessna 172s as there are flying 172s.

The tcds explained via example – grumman style

When the Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration finds that an aircraft, aircraft engine, propeller, or appliance specified under paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection is properly designed and manufactured, performs properly, and meets the regulations and minimum standards, the Administrator shall issue a type certificate for the aircraft, aircraft engine, propeller, or appliance. When the Administrator receives a type certificate application, he or she investigates it and may hold a hearing. In the interest of safety, the Administrator may conduct or require the applicant to conduct tests that the Administrator deems necessary.
If the holder of a type certificate agrees to allow another person to use the certificate to manufacture a new aircraft, aircraft engine, propeller, or appliance, except as given in paragraph (4), the holder must provide the other person with written proof of that agreement, in a form appropriate to the Administrator. Only the holder of the type certificate or someone with approval from the holder may manufacture a new aircraft, aircraft engine, propeller, or appliance based on the type certificate.

Hondajet ha-420 receives faa type certification – aintv

A type certificate certifies the airworthiness of a specific aircraft category based on its manufacturing design (type design). It certifies that a new type of aircraft intended for serial production meets all applicable airworthiness standards set forth by national air law. [1] Certification for primary category aircraft with up to three seats costs around $1 million, $25 million for a general aviation aircraft, and hundreds of millions of dollars for a commercial aircraft; certification delays can cost millions of dollars and determine the profitability of a program. [two]
A type certificate (TC) certifies that the approved design or “type” of an aircraft to be produced is safe to fly. A regulatory authority issues the TC, and once issued, the design cannot be altered unless at least part of the certification process is repeated to cover the changes. A regulatory authority has determined that the type design meets airworthiness requirements, and the TC represents that determination. 1st The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), and the Civil Aviation Administration of China are examples of regulatory agencies (CAAC).

New basic regulation – easa product certification & doa

A type certificate certifies that an aircraft manufacturing design, or “type,” is safe to fly. A regulatory body issues the certificate, which represents a determination that the aircraft is built to an approved design and that the design ensures compliance with airworthiness standards. The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the European Aviation Safety Agency are two examples of regulatory agencies (EASA). The design can’t be altered once it’s been released……or can it?
When it comes to “cannot be modified,” there are two choices available to an airframer. One option is to apply for a Supplemental Type Certificate (STC), while the other is to develop a completely new design. The decision is made based on whether or not the change is considered a new design (i.e. introduces risk not considered in the first design). If the manufacturer believes the change will not pose a new risk, an STC is normally requested. This is a more affordable option. The STC is awarded if the regulatory authority agrees with the reasoning for selecting STC. A new Type Certificate is requested if this is not the case.

About the author


View all posts